The High North Hero Award is an annual award established by the High North Center for Business and Governance to honor a person, organization or company who has contributed to highlighting or developing the High North. The award is handed out during the High North Dialogue Conference in Bodø. The award 2024 is handed out during the High North Dialogue Conference in Bodø as a part of Arctic Congress Bodø 2024.


Call for nominations

High North Hero logoEvery year, the public is invited to nominate candidates. Citizens from any country in the world are eligible to nominate candidates for the prize and to win the prize. You may nominate an individual, a company or an organization that meets at least one of the criteria below.

There is no requirement that the nominee is from the Arctic or resides in the Arctic; the intention of the Award is to highlight the efforts of a person or an organization whose work has a positive impact in the circumpolar north. Self-nominations are also accepted.


The nominee must have contributed to an achievement that fulfils at least one of the following criteria:

  • The nominee has significantly contributed to business development, societal development, growth, or employment in the High North
  • The nominee has significantly contributed to new knowledge about the High North
  • The nominee is innovative and uses innovative methods to advance cooperation in the High North
  • The nominee has a significant impact in the High North locally, nationally and internationally
  • The nominee contributes to diversity, equity, and inclusion in the Arctic including, for example, gender equality or indigenous rights
  • The nominee contributes significantly to strengthening collaboration in the High North.
Submit your candidate via the link. The nomination period closes April 26, 2024, 12.00 CET 

Previous Heroes

The first-ever High North Hero Award was awarded in 2016. The previous High North Heroes are:

Award and committee

The prize consists of a diploma and 50 000 NOK (equivalent to approximately USD 5 500).

The following international committee will decide and announce the winner:

  • Executive Director, Anu Fredrikson, Arctic Frontiers
  • Professor Laurence C. Smith, Brown University, USA
  • Regional manager North, Siv Dagny Aasvik, Offshore Norge
  • Executive Director, Ian Laing, Institute of the North, USA
  • Senior Fellow, Jennifer Spence, Harvard Kennedy School, Belfer Center Arctic Initiative
  • Secretary-General, Patti Bruns, the Arctic Mayors’ Forum
  • Editor in Chief, Arne O Holm, High North News, Norway